i love my life

i write to fight my short-memory-loss | my room for learning and sharing something new

Poetry: I am a Muslim, Hijab Never Came Easy to Me

on 15 October 2010


Hijab never came easy to me . .
Being brought up in the West , you see . .
I ran and ran , But finally . .
I could not deny my identity . .

… I am a Muslim…

Having everything , But feeling empty . .
Something missing . .
An unexplained yearning , My heart thirsty . .
I ran and ran , But finally . .
I could not deny my spirituality . .

…I am a Muslim …

Toeing the middle line . .
To be politically correct . .
Fence sitting with regard to every atrocious act
Liberal . .
so that no finger can point at , But finally . .
I could not deny my reality . .

…I am a Muslim …

So don on the hijab . .
Bow down in salaat . .
Voice our true convictions . .
Don’t run and run , Finally. .
Let’s embrace our duty . .

…We are proudly Muslims…

By: Raghda El-Rayes


One response to “Poetry: I am a Muslim, Hijab Never Came Easy to Me

  1. […] post: 1, 2, 3 Rate this: Share this:EmailFacebookTwitterPrintLike this:Suka3 bloggers like this […]

Leave a Reply

